Preventing Blood Clots

Have you heard about blood clots? Do you know that this is a serious medical condition? I have an elderly friend who had been diagnosed with deep vein thrombosis or blood clots. It’s a good thing that she immediately called her doctor when she noticed a warm spot along with soreness on her leg because, as it happens, blood clots can be dangerous. My friend currently receives medication, a blood thinner, to treat her condition.

If you do not move around a lot, you are at a high risk of having blood clots. Same is true if you just had a surgery recently, have heart trouble or varicose veins, are older than 64, or are paralyzed or have had a stroke. You can also read more about blood clot to see other factors that can put you in a high risk of having blood clots.

To prevent blood clots, stay active and move around. Do not wear tight-fitting garments or socks (or stockings). When possible, change your position often during trips that lasts more than an hour in a car, airplane, bus, or train. Avoid crossing your legs and try to raise them 6 inches above your heart from time to time.

Source: “Healthcare 411.” Your Guide to Preventing and Treating Blood Clots. Web. 21 Jan. 2015. http://www.ahrq.gov/patients-consumers/prevention/disease/bloodclots.html#symptoms.

Twiter Handles of Popular Philippine Personalities

Looking for some popular personalities to follow on Twitter? I published a list of the Twitter handles of some of the popular Philippine Celebrities back in 2010. Here’s another list that you can check out:

  • Alessandra de Rossi – @msderossi
  • Angel Locsin – @143redangel
  • Anne Curtis – @annecurtissmith
  • Bianca Gonzales – @iamsuperbianca
  • Bamboo Manalac – @Bamboomusiclive
  • Camille Pratts – @CamillePrats
  • Charice – @OfficialCharice
  • Christian Bautista – @xtianbautista
  • Cristine Reyes – @_CristineReyes_
  • Donita Rose – @RealDonitaRose
  • Enchong Dee – @enchongdee777
  • Gary Valenciano – @GaryValenciano1
  • Heart Evangelista – @heart021485
  • Iza Calzado – @MissIzaCalzado
  • Jericho Rosales – @jericho_rosales
  • Jodi Sta.Maria – @JodiStaMaria
  • Karylle – @anakarylle
  • Kathryn Bernardo – @bernardokath
  • KC Concepcion – @kc_concepcion
  • Kim Chiu – @prinsesachinita
  • Lea Salonga – @MsLeaSalonga
  • Luis Manzano – @luckymanzano
  • Maja Salvador – @dprincessmaja
  • Mark Bautista – @iammarkbautista
  • Marvin Agustin – @marvin_agustin
  • Maxene Magalona – @maxenemagalona
  • Miriam Quiambao – @miriamq
  • Nikki Gil – @nikkigil
  • Nikki Valdez – @nikkivaldez_
  • Nonito Donaire Jr. – @filipinoflash
  • Ogie Alcasid – @ogiealcasid
  • Ogie Diaz – @ogiediaz
  • Rica Peralejo – @ricaperalejo
  • Ruby Rodriguez – @rodriguezruby
  • Sam Milby – @samuelmilby
  • Sarah Geronimo – @SGeronimo25
  • Vice Ganda/Jose Mari Viceral – @vicegandako
  • Vhong Navarro – @VhongX44
  • Zsa Zsa Padilla – @zsazsapadilla

Found your favorites on the list above? Who do you want to see in the future lists? Leave a comment below and I’ll research it just for you. Happy following. Don’t forget to follow Chika Bits at Twitter, too!

Four Ways for Doctors to Expand Their Horizons

doctorWhen you have a busy career in the health industry, it is hard to find the time to branch out and explore other opportunities. Here are just four ways to experience something new during your chaotic life as a doctor.

1. Telemedicine

As the name implies, telemedicine takes place entirely over the phone. You can advise patients on everything from weight loss to blood sugar management, and you do not even need to change out of your pajamas to do it.

2. Volunteering

Consider volunteering if you are interested in a new job or hobby but afraid of the commitment that it would bring. You will get the same experience without the cost, pressure, or fear of changing your life irreparably.

3. Mobile Practice

If you are tired of walking the same old hallways every day, consider a career on the road. You can purchase mobile medical units for things like dental care and blood drives, allowing you to live freely without sacrificing your career as a doctor.

4. Career Switch

What if you do want a complete change? You do not have to leave the health industry for an exciting new career. You can simply take your education and shift it towards another area of medicine, like phlebotomy or anesthesiology.

These are just a few ways to broaden your horizons as a practicing healthcare physician. Whether you are looking for new hobbies or additional income opportunities, these should be enough to get you started with new plans and new adventures.